An Ode to Dad

“My father gave me the greatest gift anyone could give another person: He believed in me.”

– Jim Valvano

With Father’s Day right around the corner, I can’t help but reflect on the two incredible men in my life.

I am blessed with a wonderful Dad.

He has always been there for his family, and he worked his hardest to provide the best for each and every one of us. Growing up, he devoted time and attention to myself and my sister, and always made sure we felt loved and supported. Most importantly, he was present.

My Dad is the glue that holds us together. He is wise, kind, and generous. He is man of few words, but he ensures every one counts.

One of the most wonderful things about my Dad is the love he has for my Mom. He always appreciates everything she does. He tells her how beautiful she is. He lovingly supports her through all of life’s ups and downs.

My Dad set a very high bar for the men his daughters would marry. He showed his daughters what a great man looked like. He showed his daughters what a loving husband looked like. He showed his daughters what an amazing Dad looked like.

For this, I am grateful.

Because of my Dad’s example I knew not to settle. I knew I deserved the very best. I knew I wanted my husband to treat me the way in which my Dad treated my Mom.

For this, I am grateful.

As an adult I know I can still count on my Dad for anything. I know he stands behind me no matter what. I know he loves and supports me just as he did when I was a little girl.

For this, I am beyond grateful.

I am blessed with a wonderful husband.

When I met Nick, I knew he was the one for me. We have grown so much in our relationship and I can’t imagine sharing my life with anyone else.

I have never met a man more hard-working than Nick. He works two jobs; but at the end of the day he greets his girls with his beautiful smile, giant bear hugs and endless energy. No matter how busy he may be, he always makes sure we are his number one priority.

When I decided to go back to school, he encouraged and supported my decision. He continues to be my rock as we journey through the craziness of full-time school, working, and raising a delightful little girl.

Nick loves with his whole being. Watching our girl’s face light up when he enters a room speaks louder than words ever could. He is the Dad who comes home from a long shift at the fire hall and plays Barbie’s until bedtime. He makes time to ensure our girl feels like she is the most important person in the universe.

For this I am grateful.

He always goes above and beyond. I know I can count on him for anything. I know he would do anything for his family.

For this I am grateful.

He is loving and kind. He is open and honest. I know he will love and support me through the good, and more importantly, the bad.

For this, I am beyond grateful.

Thank you to all the amazing fathers who work hard and love harder.

Thank you to all the amazing fathers who are raising kind, accepting, and respectful children.

Thank you to all the amazing fathers who do the best they can with what they have.

Thank you to my Dad and my husband for being all kinds of amazing.

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 11.06.33 PM
Me and My Daddy
Leave a Reply

