When I Became A Mom

Mom.

I have been thinking about this word a lot lately.

Mostly because I have been thinking about the woman who means the world to me.

My Mom.

I have had many moments to myself this summer (one of the perks of being a mature student) and many moments with my precious daughter. As we spend these blissful (and not so blissful) moments together, I have been reflecting on how my parenting is reflective of my Mom.

One of the most memorable feelings of my childhood is love. There was never any doubt in my mind how much my Mom loved me. As an adult, I continue to feel her love abundantly, and I don’t ever want to take that for granted. I want to soak in every moment I have. I want to savor every moment my daughter has to build a lasting and beautiful relationship with her Baba. A relationship that blossoms regularly. A relationship that is a treasure to watch.

These reflections have led me to thinking about the saying…

“I am turning into my Mother!”

Which is usually associated with negative connotations.

For me, I can only hope that I turn out to be half the mother my mom is.

She is the mother who puts others before herself.

She is the mother who makes her children feel extra special.

She is the mother who is there for every milestone, big and small.

She is the mother who encourages us to be ourselves.

She is the mother who gives us the gift of time.

She is the mother who gives us her unconditional love and constant support.

When I became a Mom, I was overwhelmed by the love I had for my daughter. I am still taken aback by the love I hold in my heart for my precious girl each and every time I stare at her delightfully sweet face. More than ever I have realized…this is love.

This is the purest kind of love.

This is the love that sustains each and every one of us through the dark moments.

This is the love that fills our heart with joy at each milestone.

This is the love we cling to when we feel like we aren’t up to the challenges of parenthood.

This is the love that fills our souls as we watch our children grow into their independent selves.

This love I have for my own daughter is the exact love my Mom has for me. Even though I always felt her love, I never truly understood its depths until I held my daughter for the fist time. When I became a Mom, a new bond strengthened our relationship as Mother and Daughter. A bond as Mothers.

So, for my Mom, I write these words for you…

When I became a Mom, I was given a glimpse of the love you have for me.

When I became a Mom, I realized the joy you felt when you looked into my eyes.

When I became a Mom, I realized the heartbreak of seeing me cry.

When I became a Mom, I realized the silent struggles you must have faced.

When I became a Mom, I realized how much you sacrificed.

When I became a Mom, I realized just how amazing you are.

When I became a Mom, I realized what an incredible and special bond we share.

When I became a Mom, I realized how blessed I am to call you “Mom.”

When I became a Mom, I realized you made me the Mother I am. The person I am.

And, when I think I am turning into my Mom, I will simply smile and embrace each and every moment.

Screen Shot 2015-07-11 at 11.53.23 AM
Me, my Mama, and Miss A
Leave a Reply

