Cheers to 42 Awe-Inspiring Years

Love.

Adoration.

Companionship.

Friendship.

Supportive.

Teamwork.

Perseverance.

Compromise.

These are just some of the words that come to mind when I think of my parents.

Today, they celebrate 42 years of marriage. I am in awe of the marriage and the friendship they share.

Their marriage is one filled with endless moments and lasting memories.

Through the many challenges and successes they have faced through the years, they have strongly stood by one another’s side.

I have an incredible amount of respect for my parents; both as individuals and as a couple.

I have learned so much from them, and I continue to grow and succeed in my own marriage by doing my best to follow their lead.

Here are some (I can’t possibly list them all!) of the lessons I have learned from my parents marriage:

Communicate

It is easy to bottle up our feelings, and push how we really feel below the surface. But, I have learned from my parents that communicating with one another is a much better and incredibly healthier option. They have not only taught me, but shown me, that communication is vital to a healthy and happy marriage.

Marriage isn’t a a Storybook Fairytale

Marriage is hard work. It’s not always sunshine, rainbows and fuzzy kittens. But, when you truly and whole heartedly love someone, it is more than worth the effort. Marriage may not always be what you imagined, but when you are with the one you love, you can make it your own imperfectly perfect fairytale.

Listen

Listen to the words your partner is saying. We are often so concerned with what we have to say, we don’t hear the words around us. Listening is a skill, and it often requires copious amounts of patience and work. Do your best to understand and process the words being spoken, even if they aren’t always what you want to hear.

Stay Friends

I watch my parents spend time together. I watch them enjoy the time they spend together. We can easily get caught up in everything else in life, and sometimes we forget about our best friend–our spouse. Make time for each other. Have fun, laugh often, and continuously build and strengthen your friendship.

Say I love You

I grew up hearing my parents exchange these words several times a day. I still hear them being said. They are three simple words that take little effort, but mean the world. Say these words. Say them often.

Congratulations Mom and Dad!

You are loved and adored and I am so proud to be your daughter.

May you be blessed with many, many, more years of love, laughter, health, and joyful moments together.

Cheers to 42 awe-inspiring years!

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 11.30.42 AM Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 11.31.02 AM

Leave a comment