Cheers to the Moms

I have recently become a lover of Podcasts. The one I look forward to every single week, is One Bad Mother. Hosted by two honest, real, and hilarious women, Biz Ellis and Theresa Thorn, this show strives to encourage moms to judge less, and embrace the chaos that is motherhood. During their most recent episode, I found myself completely relating to the mom rant­–something they feature at the end of every episode. While listening to this mom, I couldn’t help but burst into tears. She was feeling horrible and spoke about the immense guilt she felt for neglecting her child while juggling the constant demands of being a mom and a student.

“Wow!” I thought to myself; I am not alone.

As a full time student myself, I know this exact feeling.

It follows me wherever I go.

It breaks my heart when I know I can’t commit to something.

It leaves me feeling like a failure when I have to miss special moments.

It makes me feel guilty when I spend weekdays in the classroom, and weekends in the library.

It is a feeling that cannot be escaped.

It is the worst feeling in the world.

But, here’s the good news, we aren’t alone.

We all feel ‘mom guilt.’ This dreaded feeling that makes its home in the pit of our stomach. This dreaded feeling that tells us we aren’t good enough. This dreaded feeling that makes us feel like we don’t measure up.

Stay at home moms, working moms, student moms, single moms.

Moms.

Each and every mom, at some point, wishes she could be succeeding more; and failing less.

However, I also realize the incredible lessons I am teaching my daughter. These are the lessons that help me battle this ugly monster we call ‘mom guilt.’ I have learned that the sacrifices I am making now, are setting my daughter up for success.

I am teaching her valuable lessons.

I am showing her to follow her dreams, and to seek out her own joy. Each time I leave for class, she sees my dedication. Each time I have to work on a project or study, she sees my drive to succeed. Each time I succeed, she dances and celebrates by my side.

These are lessons I hope she will always remember; valuable lessons she will hold onto.

I hope she knows that she can do and be anything she puts her mind to. I hope she knows that life is not easy. I hope she knows that hard work pays off. I hope she knows that challenges are worthwhile. I hope she finds something that makes her undeniably happy; whatever that may be.

Every mom should be celebrated. We are all doing our very best.

Despite our different paths, we are all on the same journey. We all want to raise happy, healthy, and thriving children. We are all struggling to find balance. So, to the stay-at-home moms, you are incredible. To the working moms, you are awesome. To the single moms, you rock. To my fellow student moms, you are amazing.

I could easily say, “Stop feeling guilty!” but this is unrealistic. Instead, when your mind is intruded with doubt and self-loathing, remember those faces that look at you with complete, and unwavering love and adoration. Know that even if you feel like you aren’t enough, they see you as more than enough.

 You are your child’s everything–which means–you are the best mom.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 9.44.35 AM

Leave a Reply

