When I Think of You

 

 My mind runs on overdrive. 

Like all moms, my thoughts are endless and my mind drifts from one thing to another.

Over and over, and over again. 

This comes with the territory of being a parent. As my daughter gets older and she embarks on every milestone, my mind continues to worry, hope, and dream.

Today, my sweet girl turns five…FIVE!

My mind still has a hard time believing this precious girl is mine.

 

IMG_4657
2 Days Old

 

I am amazed when I think about the impact she has made on my life.

I am overwhelmed by how my love grows more for her with each passing day.

My mind races.

 It is filled with dreams…with thoughts of her, and what her future will bring. 

 When I think of you, my darling daughter, these are the thoughts that flood my mind.

Pride. I am so proud of the person you are. You are strong and independent and you full-heartedly take on every challenge that comes your way. You are kind and thoughtful, generous and loving and wise and empathetic. You have so many qualities that make you an incredible human being.

When I think of you, I am beyond proud to be your mom. I am proud to call you mine. 

 

FullSizeRender
Happy 1st Birthday

 

Joy. You bring such joy to my life. You see the world with such vigor; ready to take on whatever the world throws at you. You make me see life through fresh, clear eyes. I love being able to see the world from a new perspective—from your perspective.

When I think of you, I smile with my whole heart. You fill my heart with incredible joy and happiness. 

 

IMG_4658
Happy 2nd Birthday

 

Fear. I am afraid of what the world has in store for you. I fear mean spirited people who will try to break your joyous spirit. I fear I won’t always be able to protect you. I am afraid because I know I won’t be able to stop your heart from being broken. I fear this, but know it is part of life; but as your Mom my heart will break with yours.

When I think of you, I hope you know I am always here for you, no matter what. Please know you can come to me with anything, and everything.

 

IMG_4660
Happy 3rd Birthday

 

Love. There is no greater love than the love a mother has for her child. I will love you through it all, even when you think I don’t. Being a mom is the purest example of unconditional love; this is what love looks like. Through the good, the bad, and especially the ugly, I am here to lean on.

When I think of you, I often think my heart may explode. I want you to always know how much I love you.

 

 

IMG_4661
Happy 4th Birthday

 

Hope. I hope you will learn from every pleasant and unfortunate experience life challenges you with. I hope I have instilled a strong sense of self worth in you. I hope you have the strength to speak up for what you believe in and the courage to stand firm those in beliefs. When I think of you, I am hopeful for your future. I am hopeful for the fresh path set out for you, waiting for your little feet to make their mark.

When I think of you, I am overwhelmed by all of the possibilities ahead of you.

 

When I think of you, I fear and long for what your future holds.

When I think of you, I cherish all that you are and all of what you will become.

When I think of you, I feel a love like no other.

When I think of you, I can think of no bigger purpose in my life.

 

 Happy Birthday to my joy, my love, my heart; my Avrey.

 

Leave a Reply

